Natural and Organic Beauty Products and DIYs

Its Beauty Time!

Since moving to California I have been more than regularly exposed to all sorts of natural products. from hemp lotions to berry lip stains, green juices and organic grocery stores.

I must admit, I have come to appreciate this laid back lifestyle and its wonderful earthy-smelling products.

Having always been a lover of new products and beauty regimens, I have composed a list of effective and natural products and recipes I have come to ADORE since moving to the West Coast.

1. Origins GinZing.

I have always been a fan of the products origins makes. The packaging is crisp and clean which I like (makes me feel organized). My new favorite is this energy boosting moisturizer, this product is light-weight and oil free, perfect for acne-prone skin like mine! This moisturizer also is packed with the good stuff, even coffee beans, to perk that sad skin right back up. The scent itself is tantalizing with hints of citrus and mint.  I find its great to smooth onto the skin in the mornings to give your face a wake-up call and banish that tired mug.

GinZing™  Energy-boosting moisturizer. Limited Edition Size ($39.50 Value!)

2. Konjac Sponge

Made from the Konjac plant, this sponge is a little miracle. People in Asia have been using this for ages, and it’s only just become a hit in the states. This PH neutral sponge cleanses, exfoliates and balances skin naturally. There are Konjac sponges for every skin type including acne prone skin and sensitive skin. My favorite provider is The Konjac Sponge Co. They provide an extensive range of Konjac sponges for every need. Some are enriched with vitamins, while others are enriched with clay. You can purchase a sponge unique to your skin type and cleansing needs. All natural, and cruelty free, this company will always be a winner in my book. Plus it’s cheap!

3. DIY Mineral Veil

I know so many ladies that swear by Bare Mineral’s mineral veil. Having been converted to a Bare Minerals believer myself, I always feel like my make-up isn’t perfect until I’ve swiped on some of that magic fairy dust. Of course, since being a young adult and unfortunately not bathing in my golden hot tub filled with cash…I tested out a great DIY recipe for an all-natural homemade mineral veil. Its super-easy and only has two ingredients! Recipe courtesy of Reese Kistel. Check out the link and give it a try!

3. Aztec Healing Clay Mask

Behold the holy king of face masks. I have used this products for about 3 years now and I have NEVER found anything like it. The pure quality and volume of product you get for the price is amazing.  I purchase mine from Whole Foods, but you can find it on Amazon just as easily. The mask comes in a powdered form to which you add water or apple cider vinegar and mix. The powder then turns into a paste which you spread across your face and let harden. The clay will tingle, and as it hardens you can practically feel it pulling dirt and oil from your pores. After just one use my pores are smaller, and any acne I had looks smaller and less red! This face mask really is the best of the best, and such a great deal.

4. Apple Cider Vinegar Toner

Again to the apple cider! Apple Cider Vinegar (ACV) is an amazing natural product that has a huge array of uses. For the purpose of this post, we explore its use as a facial toner. I use an ACV toner every day, once before bed and once in the morning. I cannot tell you how well this stuff works, it practically changed my skin regimen forever. The linked tutorial gives a detailed guide on how to perfectly mix and use ACV toner. Personally I love to replace water with witch hazel, and add tea tree oil to mine. I then bottle the mixture into a travel size container and apply with a cotton ball to the skin. The scent can be a little strong at first but the final effect is worth it! ACV will treat even the worst acne, lighten dark spots and acne marks, as well as moisturize and balance the skin. A perfectly affordable and effective alternative to a store bought toner.

How to Make Your Own Apple Cider Vinegar Facial Toner

5. Bare Minerals Foundation

My all-time FAVORITE foundation ever. This foundation is amazing, it’s just a bonus that it is natural as well! Created with all natural ingredients bare minerals foundation is what I have been using for years, I have never found a foundation I love more and believe me I have tried everything that is out there. From oily to dry skin Bare Minerals foundation is perfect. The powder foundation itself comes in three styles: matte, original, and Sephora also carries a blemish ready formula. The minerals in this product actually heal and protect skin while your wearing it, your skin looks better after you take it off! The foundation is very build-able and you can go from medium to light coverage in no time. The foundation also double as a super-effective concealer when applied with a concealer brush. After just a few minutes the powder foundation melts into your skin making it look even better, and more natural as the day goes on, rather then sliding off like a liquid foundation might. This fabulous product runs about $27.

**These are just the top 5, as new products come up, the list will be extended so be sure to check back!**

Leave a Reply

